Hunter’s Irish Red Tasting

Hunter’s Irish Red is finally in the bag.  And it’s pretty ding-dang good if I do say so myself.  I popped open my ceremonial first-tasting Grolsch to a satisfying *pop* and poured out a beautiful clear red beer with a nice foamy head.  There is a subtle hop flavor and a pronounced caramel note.  I’m proud of this for a first attempt at all-grain BIAB, and I’ll be proud to serve this at my boy’s 1st birthday.  Overall Score: 8.0

Sudwerk Brewing Co. Rye of the Lager

  • Hops
    • Mosaic
    • Amarillo
    • Simcoe
  • Grains
    • Heirloom Rye
  • 7.0% ABV
  • 70 IBU

My awesome in-laws got me a beer of the month club membership for Christmas.  This in itself is slightly misleading, as it actually comes with 4 beers every month!  SCORE!  The first I tried was Sudwerk Brewing Company’s Eye of the Lager, a very bold IPA.  It was crisp and refreshing, with a very pronounced grapefruit flavor.  Overall, I thought it was amazing and I would love to emulate it in the future.  Overall grade: 8.5